Jailhouse Blues by Murray Cook

Deb's World

This articlewas written by Murray Cook, a fellow teacher at Long Bay Correctional Centre in Sydney and was published in the Sydney Morning Herald on Saturday 27/8/16.  He sums it up very well and adds a human element to our case.

Jailhouse Blues: Premier’s decision will rock may lives

Murray is a musician who teaches inmates at Long Bay jail.

Pottering around the Blue Mountains Wintermagic festival recently, I heard a busker singing Knocking on Heaven’s Door. I rolled my eyes at my girl and we laughed knowing how many times I’d played that song in my 21 years of teaching music at Long Bay Jail.

As we approached, the busker put his guitar aside and enveloped me in a crushing hug. “Muzz,” he cried. “How great to see you on the outside.”

It was Big Jay, one of my ex-students. Flash back five years to when he’d threatened…

View original post 914 more words

Leave a Reply

